Welsh Products Online

Welsh Products Online

Welsh Corgi Puppies | Welsh Gold Wedding Ring | Welsh Love Spoons | Welsh Coastal Cottages

Megan Series Megan Series Megan Series

Megan Series

by +Owen Jones

A Review - by J. Johns

The Megan Series is a sequence of short books, novellas, about Megan, a young teenage girl. In fact, in the first book, she is twelve, but she has her thirteenth birthday in the second volume.

Megan Series

Megan is a girl who has always known that she is different from any adult she has ever known and most other children at school as well. This is because she has always been able to talk to people and even animals that other people said that they could not see.

In her very early life, she had often called out her grandfather's name, or 'gramps' anyway, but 'gramps' wife, who was taking care of her while her mother was at work, thought that she was referring to herself - 'gran'. However, at that age, five or six, she did not understand the concept of death. She just did not understand why others could not see him too.

As she got older, Megan, continued to search for answers, but her own mother was her greatest stumbling block. In fact, in the first edition in the Megan Series, we first meet Megan locked in the coal cellar at home.

She had been locked in there, and not for the first time either, by her own mother for asking questions that she herself found worrying and confusing. The implication is that her mother, Suzanne, had also had paranormal experiences, but had learned to keep stumm about them because her own mother had feared the consequences.

However, Megan is made of sterner stuff that either her mother or her mother's mother and she continues in her quest to find out about her psychic powers. The only problem, if problem it is, though, is that the only people who will help her with her psychic development are dead.

This does not phase Megan at all though, since she has lived with dead people every day all her life. The 'main man' in her team of advisors and teachers so far is a Sioux warrior called Wacinhinsha or 'White Feather' in English.

Wacinhinsha is a very advanced entity, who treats Megan as an equal and teaches her, little by little, how to develop her supernatural powers. Then there is her gramps, who knows that he is dead, but not a lot more. Finally, she has a Siberian tiger friend, whose name is Grrr.

At the time of writing this review, there are three novellas in the Megan Series:
'Megan The Misconception' which a dark introduction to Megan's predicament and some of her friends and family.
'Megan's Thirteenth', which is about Megan's thirteenth birthday party ad her friends.
'Megan's School Trip', wherein Megan and her school friends are taken on the annual school outing

The fourth book is due out in September 2013 and will probably be called 'Megan's School Exams'.

All of these books are available as downloadable ebooks in several formats, but also as print books at a price starting at 99 cents.

They are lovely little books that anyone can afford and far better than comics.

The novellas in the Megan Series can be bought from the author's website from 99 cents and in a box set. Please click here